Brian Urlacher enters Canton as a first-ballot Hall of Famer

Brian Urlacher got the knock on the door that he was hoping for, despite the fact that he left the do not disturb sign on his hotel doorknob.

The former University of New Mexico and Chicago Bear great was elected into the 2018 Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday, along with Bobby Beathard, Robert Brazile, Brian Dawkins, Terrell Owens, Jerry Kramer, Randy Moss, and fellow linebacker, Ray Lewis.

A member of the 2000’s NFL All-Decade team, Urlacher ended his storied NFL career as an eight-time Pro Bowler and four-time first-team All-Pro. He won the 2005 NFL defensive player of the year and the 2000 rookie of the year.

After his selection as the ninth player in the 2000 NFL draft, Urlacher quickly made his mark as the centerpiece of the Bears defense for over a decade. His combination of size, speed, and atheism made him a perfect fit as the mike linebacker a cover two defense, and his football IQ and field awareness were on par with his fellow inductee, Ray Lewis.

In addition to joining all-time greats in the Pro Football Hall of Fame, the former 1999 Jim Thorpe Award finalist entered the College Football Hall of Fame on December 5th, 2017.